Finding Dory, Moto G4, and video games

Last night I went to see the animated film “Finding Dory.” This was partly because I thought I heard someone talking about the movie. I found myself pleasantly enjoying a really cute and funny little film. If you enjoyed “Finding Nemo”, then I’m fairly certain that you will enjoy “Finding Dory.” I also wanted to to a quick review of the phone that I bought, due to my other phone being run over by a car.

My previous phone was a Moto G LTE 3rd edition I believe. As it happens, my phone getting crushed almost coincided with the release of the new Moto G4. I really enjoyed my old Moto G so I thought, why not just get the newer model that’s coming out. That’s exactly what I did. There were two versions coming out. The regular model and the plus model. Plus did not mean that it was any bigger. It added a slightly better camera and a fingerprint scanner, two things that I didn’t find worth the extra money. I consider myself a budget friendly individual and the Moto G gives great performance without spending over 600 dollars for a ‘flagship’ phone.

First, my old phone had a 4.5 inch display. The Moto G4 has a 5.5 inch screen and has 1080p whereas I believe my old phone only went to 720p. It has a 13 megapixel camera that I’ve not really used a lot, but I’m sure it will be fine for taking pictures. It’s not going to match the camera of the latest Iphone or anything, but I’m sure it will get the job done. The phone has 2 gigs of RAM which I think is just fine for what I intend on using it for. I’m not really into playing games on my phone. My two favorite things so far about the phone are the batter life, and the microSD card slot. I got the 16 gigabyte version because I can get a cheap microSD card and expand the memory all the way up to 128 gigs. My old Moto G had great battery life. Well, at least it did before I updated it to Lollipop. The new model seems to have the same great battery life, so I hope Google doesn’t send out an update that screws with it.

I will admit that I was initially in awe of the 5.5 inch display because a whole inch of screen space really makes it that much bigger. It’s a little bit more difficult to do some tasks with one hand, but the quality of the screen and clarity is wonderful. Also, I am glad that Marshmallow brought back the easier way to silence your phone. I throw out a little plug for MetroPCS. Their coverage is not as good as at&t, but for the areas that I frequent I have plenty of coverage and unlimited data. I’m also given the ability to tether up to 8 gigs or so of data if I choose. I’m still curious to try out cricket because of the coverage of at&t, and they just offered their own unlimited plan to compete with MetroPCS. The only downside to Cricket would be that they have the data go through a proxy which limits you to 8 meg downloads on LTE and 4 megs on HSPA. I think that would be sufficient for most things, but I would be worried about priority because at&t contract customers would have priority during peak hours.

Anywho, I’m overall pleased with the Moto G4. If you are in the market for a good phone and don’t want to break the bank, it’s a great choice. This is off the topic, but I’m bummed because I found out that the “Return to Arkham” video game has been delayed. The good news is that “The Witcher 3” is probably going to have a game of the year edition released at the end of this month. That’s one of the games that I’ve been most excited to play. Well, till next time.

Leave a Reply

