Current impressions of Assassin’s Creed:Unity and my return to video games

I’ve logged several hours now in Assassin’s Creed: UnityI’m finding the game to be enjoyable overall, but there are several things that I don’t like about it. While I do enjoy feeling like spiderman thanks to the parkour system, it can be a bit clunky at times. There have been so many moments where I just wanted to hop through a window or perhaps not even scale a wall, but the game decides that it’s going to do what it wants to do.

I’m new to the next gen console games, so the graphics seem pretty impressive to me. I understand that this game has been out for a couple years now, so I’m sure that it doesn’t tap into the full capabilities of the x-box one. Another thing that I don’t like is that I feel like there are way too many side quests to participate in. I have enjoyed several of the side quests, but there are many that seem pointless and don’t offer much reward. I haven’t tried the co-op missions yet, mainly because I’m still getting used to playing the game. I’m sure they would be fun.

My biggest disappointment again is with the controls. There are just way too many times that I end up doing something that I didn’t want to do or vice versa. I’m also playing Batman: Arkham Knight right now as well. I really enjoy it so far. I would say that even though there was no surprise party on my birthday, which there may never be, that getting a gaming console as a gift was a good decision. I really do like the x-box one controller. I was used to the Playstation controllers and had never really used an x-box controller before. The button layout is superb and while I enjoyed the Playstation controllers, I think I like the way the x-box one controller feels in my hands better.

I’ve got several games that I’ve been able to get good deals on and a couple of those are x-box 360 games. Backwards compatibility is a big deal to me because I can go back and play a lot of the great games I’ve missed out on over the years. The saddest part of my return to video games is obviously the lack of playing with someone else. In the past, my friend had a last gen system and we would play it from time to time. There’s even a Dragon Age game that I would love to be able to play with her. If you knew the comments I made about a previous Dragon Age game, you’d know why I was excited to play one with her.

Gaming also appears to be a good escape from life’s current challenges. I can plug headphones into the controller and I can most of the time drown out the voices that I’m hearing. I still hear bits and pieces of what they are saying, but it does help cut down on it. So that’s where I’ll leave it for this blog. Thanks for reading. Till next time.

Leave a Reply

