Geeky stuff and just another girl

Hello again. So it has come to my attention that when I get married I wanted to have a really geeky wedding. Well, let me say it like this. I know for sure that I want to have some of the music that’s played be from the Vitamin String Quartet: Geek Wedding Vol. 1 & 2. They’ve got the Doctor Who theme, halo theme, and many other pieces of music that they perform that would be perfect for a wedding. If I could afford it, I would like to hire a quartet to just play the songs live at the wedding. This is all under the assumption that I will get married one day. I’m not trying to be pessimistic, but I do believe in being realistic about my situation. If one day things work out that way then that’s great, and if not then that will be okay too.

I was listening to the song Just Another by Pete Yorn and I was taken back to the story of how I first heard that song. I can’t remember specifically if it was Napster, AudioGalaxy, or Winmx, but it was definitely downloaded. It takes me back to the days of AOL Instant Messenger. I had several friends that I communicated with on a regular basis through the messenger. Two of them happen to be girls. One of them I had met in a chat room and we had hit it off. The other was from the now defunct Dave Matthews Band forum nancies.org.

In fact, I got into a lot of the music I listen to because of the nancies forum. People would point me in the direction of particular artists and I would download some of the songs they were telling me about. I remember when the girl who I used to talk to from the chat room was talking to me on aim one day and she said “Have you heard of Pete Yorn?” To which I responded no, and then she insisted that I had to download it that instant and listen to it because it was so good. I remember us talking about the song after I listened to it, but I can’t remember what was said. Sometimes I wonder what happened to her and what she is up to now. Come to think of it, it would be cool to find out what a lot of the people I talked with through the internet are doing now.

The internet, particularly forums and chat rooms were pretty much my social life. I mean I had a few close friends, but I really connected with the communities of people from different forums and chat rooms. One girl’s name was Jen and she kept a blog. Back then I think it was a livejournal. She was the one who got me into Ben Folds and Ben Folds Five. Then there was the Phish dude who was always recommending Phish shows and songs from different live shows. He’s the one who got me to buy my first Phish dvd. There was even a guy who was somewhat of an accountability partner and a fellow believer in Christ whose name was Adam. We would talk about scriptures and God and different things.

If anyone knows me they know that I like privacy, but if there is one thing that I am grateful for, even if I think it has it’s drawbacks, is the internet. By the way, one more random thing is that I did not enjoy Rouge One. I feel bad for saying that because I wanted so much to like it. For whatever reason I just could not connect with any of the characters. It lacked something that I can’t put my finger on. I’m still excited for Episode VIII coming out this Christmas. It’s a long way away, but I’m hoping that we at least get a teaser trailer within the next few weeks.

Well, I’m gonna sign off because I’ve got a mound of schoolwork to do within the next few days. The couple of weeks at the beginning of the semester where everything was kinda slow have now vanished. I hope there won’t be many weeks like this one, but I do know that all my classes have to cover a lot of material over the next several months so that’s understandable. Till next time, may the force be with you!

Leave a Reply

