The Trump travel ban

I hope I don’t come off sounding ignorant on this issue, but I wanted to voice my opinion about the travel ban that President Trump is issuing. I will say that I voted for Donald Trump because of his views on abortion. That was really the only reason that I voted at all was because I believe he will stand up against abortion. Some people may stop reading right there and ask how I could vote for a man like Donald Trump. Trust me people, I wasn’t going to the ballot box with a ton of joy in my heart. I’ve heard things that he’s said and I don’t agree with quite a lot of them.

One area that I absolutely disagree with him on his the travel ban which is really a Muslim ban. He and his administration are trying to say that they are doing this because they believe it will curb terrorist efforts in our country, but I actually see it doing more damage than good. I recently heard a speaker from Ireland at school last week. She was saying that any time you build a wall or you tell people they can’t come in, you are asking for trouble and backlash. I’m not for what Hillary Clinton was for, which was open borders, but I think that this travel ban is absolutely ridiculous. I think it will cause those places that have the radical Muslim people groups to hate the United States even more.

I need to say definitively that while there are Muslims who are terrorists, not every single Muslim is a terrorist. Typically, people don’t do that with other nationalities and races. They don’t throw the baby out with the bath water because you have a few people who are radical. I’m also a Christian and I believe that one of the ways to help the Muslim community is to allow them to hear the Gospel. Think about it, if they are in America, where there is a church on almost every street corner, they have a greater likelihood of hearing the Gospel. I’m not saying that we shove it down their throats, but we give them the chance to hear it. What’s going to happen if you deny Muslims into America and start shipping them back to where they came from?

You’ll get exactly the thing that you don’t want. Those people will go back to places where they are probably more likely to hear some kind of radical ideals and have that pushed down their throats. I need to clarify and explain that I am not against people being punished for doing horrible things. I think that if there are groups of people who want to kill people or who do kill people, there should be consequences that they face. What about refugees that want to escape their hostile environment?

What does it really mean to be an American these days? If you think about it, America is a nation of immigrants from all over the place. If people aren’t allowed to come over here and to have a fresh start or a new start then what are we becoming as a nation? The inscription on the Statue of Liberty reads

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

That sounds like opportunity to me. I understand that we must fight terrorism at every level, but we must also continue to be a nation of refuge for people and a place where people can dream. It used to be the American Dream, but that seems to be going away now. I hope that I have not offended anyone with this blog post, but I just believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty and that we should be tolerant of people that are different than us. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time.

Leave a Reply

