My review of La La Land

Last night I went to the theater and saw La La Land. I’ll admit that I’m a sucker for a good romance story or romantic comedy. This happened to be a musical with shades of romance and comedy. I’m going to talk about what happened in the movie so if you haven’t seen it yet and plan on doing so I will suggest that you stop reading right now.

SPOILER ALERT!

 

So as I said it’s a musical. The two main characters are Sebastian and Mia played by Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Sebastian is an aspiring jazz piano player and Mia is an aspiring actress. The music in the movie is well done and I loved the cinematography. The way the movie was shot in beautiful. What confused me was what happened in the third act of the movie. Mia and Sebastian were in love, but then it shows Mia getting a really big role and shifts to five years later. Now we see Mia married to a different man. She and her husband just happen to stumble upon Sebastian’s jazz club toward the end of the movie.

Then the main theme song or love song of the movie starts being played by Sebastian. At this point the movie rewinds itself to one of the first times that they met and shows them falling in love and getting married and having kids together. Just when you think it’s a happy ending…bam! We see that all of what just happened with them getting married is either in his mind or her’s or both. He finishes the song and they both exchange looks for a few seconds and that’s the end of it.

At the end I was ready to give the movie a low rating because they seemed to have magically worked everything out and be together, but that’s not what happened and I’m glad it didn’t. It would have been just like almost every other Hollywood romance to where all the problems are solved and the guy gets the girl and vice versa. This was much more realistic because honestly, most things don’t end up working out and sometimes in life you lose someone you really care about. They had both made huge impacts in each others lives. Sebastian wouldn’t have opened up his club if not for Mia. Mia wouldn’t have landed the big movie role if Sebastian hadn’t talked her into auditioning for it.

As one of my best friend’s would say, it’s a tragic romance. Sure I wanted things to work out between them, who wouldn’t. But it’s just not true to how most real life situation are. I wish there were more movies that ended like this and I applaud the writers for having the balls to go through with it. So all in all I would highly recommend seeing the film. If you haven’t seen it and read the spoilers (I don’t know why you would) then I’m sorry, but I did forewarn you.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time.

Leave a Reply

