Headphones and John Wick 2

Finally, I’ve bought me a decent pair of headphones. Today I’m going to talk about my initial impressions. I may feel differently about them after a few months of use. I’ll give you a little context on how I came to these headphones. Previously, the most I’d ever spent on headphones was around thirty dollars. They were bluetooth earbuds. They were okay, but that had a slight whining noise that you could occasionally hear when the music wasn’t that loud. I also have an old pair of Sony headphones that I’ve used for over ten years. They probably ran me about fifteen dollars at the time.

I should note that I’m no headphone connoisseur, as this is my first foray into good headphones. I was able to snag the Phillips SHP9500’s for about fifty five dollars. I’m not quite ready to spend more on headphones at this point. However, let me state that these headphones are a huge improvement from what I’ve been using. They are also my first pair of “open back” headphones. I had researched and found that if you spend most of your time in a place where you won’t disturb people that “open back” headphones were better because they offer a larger sound stage. The difference is that with closed headphones music seems to be more in your head and isolated like in a tunnel. So I decided that I don’t plan on using these in coffee shops or libraries, mainly because they do leak quite a lot of sound while wearing them.

I read a lot of reviews before purchasing these myself and the overall verdict was that they couldn’t be beat at their price. Upon listening to a few songs, I actually heard distinct nuances that I’d never heard before. I’m blown away by how great these sound. The only area where they lack a little is bass. It’s not that the bass is not there, it’s just not as prominent, which I also read could be an issue with “open back”, but it’s just enough bass for me. I’m not a real bass heavy listener. I like my bass to be present, but to blend with the mids and highs.

The headphones also have a detachable 3.5mm cable so you can use a different cable if you don’t like the one it came with. My plan is to try and burn in these by playing stuff through them for prolonged periods of time. Apparently, that helps break in the headphones. They are also extremely comfortable and I plan on using them for gaming sessions. So to sum it up, I’m very satisfied with my initial impressions of these headphones.

The second thing that I wanted to do is offer a review of John Wick 2. I went with a friend to see it last night. I think that the action in the movie was some of the best that I’ve ever seen in a movie of this type. My friend had seen the first one and I had not. He said they were very interchangeable or similar with the action from the first to the second. I think I enjoyed the movie more than he did because I’d never seen the first one. If you enjoy action movies and well choreographed action then I highly recommend seeing John Wick 2.

This evening I’m going over to a friends house to watch Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I know I said I was going to watch it before, but I decided to wait and watch it with him. So far I’m really enjoying them and I’ve heard really good things about this next one so I’m excited to watch it. Today I’d like to leave you with two songs that I’m listening to right now and also highly recommend. The first is Tori Amos and the song is Carbon. The second song is called Rooting for You by London Grammar. Actually, I’ll just leave a link to each of the songs. I hope you enjoy them. Till next time…

 

Leave a Reply

