And so it begins

Last night marked the beginning of getting off of antipsychotic drugs. This first day has been okay. I am also about a week or two out from being off of my antidepressant as well. So far that has gone fairly well. I haven’t had any major withdrawal symptoms that I’ve been able to notice.

I’ve made this decision because my life on these drugs hasn’t been any better than being off of them. The only benefit I’ve seen from the antipsychotic has been the ability to fall asleep at night. However, this is not what it’s prescribed for so I see no point in continuing a medication that is not tackling the very symptoms I need it to tackle.

I’m also extremely angry and aggravated at the amount of weight that I’ve put on over the past two years while trying out different drugs. It’s time that I reclaim my life. If that means sleepless nights for a little while then so be it. This group of meds I’ve been on hasn’t benefitted me in the slightest for the past two months.

Even though it may prove to be a challenge, I am now ready to face that challenge instead of avoiding it. I just hope and pray that I can readjust quickly and that after the meds have been out of my system for a while, that my body will return to functioning the way it did prior to all of this. Thanks for reading and God bless.

2 thoughts on “And so it begins

  1. My heart goes out to you, and so do my thoughts and prayers. Getting off these meds can be like personal torture. I have two emergency meds now.
    As for coming off of antipsychoics and facing this head on, it sounds like you’re determined, you’re motivated, and you’re ready to adapt. I experience psychosis, a lot of dissociation and fugue states too, it’s all equally disruptive in my life if I fall short on my self-care (Which I have been recently) and if I get trapped in that mindset of “well, goin’ crazy again.”
    Anyway, I’m not on any medication anymore. I was on and off for about . . . six years? Not that long considering the years some people are on it. But I too made a decision to stop all of it, find alternatives, take care of myself, and get away from this mindset that I’m some kind of sick, ill, incapable human being. For me, what’s made a world of difference, is the support system I have at the Peer Respite House I work for, and being able to do things through that like outreach into a local psychiatric hospital to inform people on our peer respite. Seeing myself in a different light, and seeing what I experience as a variation of the human experience itself–I don’t know, it’s just made my life feel so much freer.
    Anyway, I just wanted to share a bit of my experience, and also commend you for making this decision. It’s a hard road, but I dare say it’s highly worth it. I still struggle daily, some days more than others, but that’s okay. We all do.
    Best,
    Ali

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your comments. I really needed to hear something encouraging and could always use more prayers. What you’ve written has reminded me to actively seek things that will bring me a sense of belonging and accomplishment when I am faced with bad days. I will also keep you in my prayers and I hope that you continue to be fulfilled in what you are doing. Again, thank you so much for your comments. Blessings

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

